Midwinter Memories

As of 10:34 am this morning (Tuesday, June 21st) the sun will be coming back to us! To celebrate, my coworkers and I walked to the ceremonial pole for a photo. It is a very nice day. Right now is -65F with only 7 knots of wind chill. We have a full moon that is up high so we were able to see the telescopes very clearly. It was the perfect midwinter moment and we all decided it would be a moment to never forget. The only problem is we can’t even remember what we had for lunch, so it will be especially tricky. In the documentary “Antarctica: A Year On Ice”, which is on Netflix about wintering at Mcmurdo, they talk about something called T3. It is basically losing your short term memory.

“Polar T3 syndrome is a condition found in polar explorers, caused by a reduction in levels of the thyroid hormone T3.[1][2] Its effects include forgetfulness, cognitive impairment and mood disturbances. It can exhibit itself in a fugue state known as the Antarctic stare.[3][4][5]

It is regarded as one of the contributory causes of winter-over syndrome.[3]

That is from a VERY reliable source called Wikipedia 🙂 Surprisingly, it does describe the problem very accurately. Sometimes I think Max is just messing with my head when he repeats stories, but he is serious. Just the other day he told me a story at lunch and then started to tell me the same story at dinner, and when I told him he already told me he thought I was kidding. So, I told him how the story ended instead. Then he had to laugh, which is the only cure of T3, because it is either laughing at yourself or really starting to feel crazy. We both prefer to laugh. Anyway, today at 10:34 am this morning (Tuesday, June 21st) the sun will be coming back to us! To celebrate, my coworkers and I walked to the ceremonial pole …… JUST KIDDING, but that is very similar to how it actually happens.

No photos for this post since I am using the slower satellite. Soon I will be posting photos of midwinter dinner, the medevac and many more aurora pictures.

One thought on “Midwinter Memories

Leave a Reply

