South Pole Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving weekend was a great success. We usually work 6 days a week, but got Saturday off for the holiday. On Friday there was a talent show. Max ran sound for it, and I sat next to him at the table and pretended like I knew what I was doing. There is a lot of really unique talent here, everything from playing instruments and singing to riding unicycles, lassoing, and comedy.

We woke up the next morning, called family and friends, and went to a light brunch. I then learned how to play cribbage (a very popular card game here), which is very fun. Max and I had signed up to help set up for Thanksgiving and serve wine and water to the first seating. It is so nice to have such a formal meal to separate thanksgiving dinner from all the other dinners. We then had our turn to eat a lot of really good food! The night ended with a dance party in the galley that Max DJ’d, with me again standing by his side pretending to be helping.DSC00270DSC00268DSC00291DSC00261DSC00364

On Sunday, we had another good brunch with baked brie, fresh fruit, omelette bar, biscuits and gravy, waffles, salmon, bagels and cream cheese, and more… They do not take brunch lightly around here. We spent the rest of the day doing laundry and relaxing with friends. Dinner involved a variety of thanksgiving leftovers. It was so nice to have the extra day off. Back to work tomorrow!

2 comments

  1. I loved seeing picts of you two together in a place I love so much. Did I lie, the food is exceptional @ Pole. Thanksgiving Dinner only more so. Hannah I think you have crossed over officially now and are a POLIE !!!!! You sure look like you belong there. So glad you and Max get to share it together.

    Like

  2. Oh my god you are so gorgeous! I shudder to think what I would look like with no showers and no humidity. Love the coordinated outfits! XOXO

    Like

Leave a Reply

